Nerf Maverick Modified (PinShot)

NERF_Pinshot

About 10 years ago, my uncle got me and my sisters 3 Nerf N-Strike Maverick Rev-6 Blasters. We used them for a while, then, as far as I remember, they faded out of existence—until now. Only two of the old mavericks were still in good shape, while the other was being troublesome and would not properly prime. We left that one in the basement for a while, then, after realizing that two mavericks just isn’t enough for a mini-scale Nerf war, I decided to try fixing it. So I took it to my room and opened it up; after a while of poking and prodding, I found out that one of the pieces that holds the turret in place was broken, and I didn’t want to bother with repairs, so, after some thinking, I started to figure on remaking the blaster, single shot style.(Since the interior turret was out of commission, the rotating part wasn’t going to work.)

NERF_Pinshot_May_2016 015

So here’s the overview. I took out/off all of the unnecessary parts out of the Maverick, removed the barrel, dremeled a single one of the six barrel segments out, and glued it over the plunger output hole. I actually left the air restrictors in and did not mod this blaster with any of the usual mods, though I plan to change that in future.

And here’s the result. It’s an interestingly weird-looking single-shot pistol, that I call the PinShot. It’s most noticeable new feature is its consistent 8-12 extra feet of range.

NERF_Pinshot_May_2016 014

This modification to the Nerf Maverick was really very easy to construct. The tools and materials that I used are as follows: A dremel, for cutting and sanding, and super-glue! I also used some silver faux leather material to cushion the plunger, keep it from shaking. The thing about this, though, is that it’s not necessarily an improvement, upon the Maverick. Sure, you’re getting a new design and a solid amount of extra range, but you’re giving up speed and capacity. Still, it’s my first real Nerf project, so I think it turned out OK.

PHTO4935.JPG

Last, but more importantly, here’s a statistics list and a blaster-specific pro-con list.

UPDATE: I did some more work on this blaster, which included drilling out the air restrictors from the front(I’m not sure why I left them in before), adding a dart storage area on the front, and greasing the interior. This gun has almost triple the range of a standard stock maverick, and it looks a little cooler now.

NERF PINSHOT (MODIFIED MAVERICK REV-6)
Power – 7/10
Accuracy – 9/10
Range – 9/10
Ammo Capacity – 7/10
Speed – 5/10
Looks – 8/10
Feel – 8/10
Reliability – 10/10
Moddability – 8/10?

PROS:

  • Has a good 30 feet at least on the regular unmodded Maverick.(Because of the air seal and the AR removal)
  • For some reason, this pistol is very satisfying to load, and it’s easier than, say, loading the Firestrike, because you can more easily use your fingers to feel out the barrel tip to load the dart.
  • Still quite accurate.
  • No possibility of jamming.

CONS:

  • It’s singlefire.
  • Does not look extremely cool.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About TalonCole

Hey! I am a highschool student who likes MC, technology, and the winter and spring breaks! I also love Nerf guns and modding them!
This entry was posted in Modifications, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nerf Maverick Modified (PinShot)

  1. Pingback: MY NERF ARSENAL (5/12/16) | NerfBlasterReviews

Leave a Reply

